Home » Hollywood »

Will Ferrell Gets Mark Twain Prize for American Humor


Will Ferrell is the recipient of the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor at the Kennedy Center for Performing Arts on Sunday. The comedian first gained popularity on sketch comedy TV show on NBC Saturday Night Live in the 1990s.

SNL contemporaries Molly Shannon, Maya Rudolph and Lorne Michaels along with Jack Black, Conan O’Brien and punk rock band Green Day offer their tributes and performances at the event in Washington.

After making a name for himself on SNL, Ferrell appeared in films such as Old School, Talladega Nights, Semi-Pro, Blades of Glory, Land of the Lost and The Other Guys. He has also played supporting roles and made brief appearances in other films with fellow ‘Frat Packers’ Ben Stiller, brothers Owen and Luke Wilson, Jack Black, Vince Vaughn and Steve Carell in numerous films like Zoolander, Starsky & Hutch, Wedding Crashers and many more.

Ferrell also used the internet as media for his comedy by creating the popular website FunnyorDie.com with Adam McKay in 2007.

The Mark Twain Prize for American Humor honored its first awardee Richard Pryor in 1998. Since then there have been thirteen awardees that include big names like Whoopi Goldberg, Steve Martin, Billy Crystal, Bill Cosby and Tina Fey.

Get free updates directly to your e-mail from Showbiz Renegade. Just enter your e-mail below and confirm your subscription by clicking the link that will be sent to your e-mail.
Enter your email address below:




, , , ,

Related Posts



You can be the first one to leave a comment.


Leave a Comment